Page 79: Family, Sturgeon Point 1915

I have described my family on previous pages, but it’s been a while.

My grandmother, Mary Etta Clark (nee Every) was married to Dr P.H. Clark of Lindsay, Ontario. He was a well respected physician, but sadly died in 1892.

My mother, also Mary Etta, married Thomas Adam- my father – who passed away in 1896.

My sisters: Petron is a nurse and is unmarried; Frances married Frank Loosemore, a banker turned fruit farmer in the Okanagan thanks to a land grant he earned by serving in the Boer War. But Frank died at the end of 1914, leaving Frances with a young son and newly pregnant as well. In August 1915 she welcomed a baby daughter, Mary Frances.

The women in my family, with young Herbert and baby Mary Frances, live together on Mill Street in Lindsay. I visit them on occasion, but am usually confined to the Sanatorium apart from summers, where I can pitch my tent and live in fresh air at Sturgeon Point.

Leave a comment